Washington State Drug Crimes

The Uniform Controlled Substances Act, (“UCSA”), sets out the crimes and related punishments for offenses involving drugs and controlled substances in Washington state. The UCSA is modeled after the federal Drug Abuse Prevention and Control Act and Controlled Substances Act.

Like the federal acts, the UCSA has five schedules of controlled drugs, which are determined by the Washington Board of Pharmacy. Schedule I includes substances that have a high potential for abuse and have no currently accepted medical use, such as LSD, Marijuana, and Ecstasy. Schedule II includes substances considered to have a high potential for abuse and which may lead to severe psychological or physical dependence. Some examples controlled substances in this schedule include morphine and opium. Schedule III drugs are deemed to have moderate or low risk of physical/psychological dependence, such as Vicodin and anabolic steroids. Schedule IV drugs have a lower risk of abuse relative to the substances listed in Schedule III, and include drugs like Darvon, a mild pain killer, and Xanax, used for anxiety. Finally, Schedule V substances have a low potential for abuse than those substances noted in Get Xanax Online Schedule IV.

The UCSA makes it illegal to manufacture, deliver, traffic or possess with intent to deliver, any of the drugs found in Schedules I or II. This crime is punishable as a Class B or C Buy Xanax Online misdemeanor, with prison terms ranging from 5 to 10 years and includes fines up to $25,000.

The USCA also makes it a crime to cultivate or possess the materials used in the production of drugs. This crime is usually charged with the crime of manufacturing or delivering drugs, as the drugs must be cultivated before they can be manufactured or delivered. This offense is punishable as a misdemeanor, with a sentence of up to one year and no less than 24 hours in jail.

The UCSA further makes it a Class C felony to possess any controlled drug. The prison term for possession can range up to 5 years. However, the UCSA makes a special exception to certain marijuana related crimes. Specifically, possession of less than 40 grams of marijuana is considered a misdemeanor and the punishment is a year to 24 hours in a county or city jail.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

WC Captcha − 6 = 3